The Hunger Games Film: Activities and Read-Alikes (A Special Edition of Pop Culture Round-Up)

30 Jan

Hunger Games cover (UK edition)The Hunger Games will be out on the 23rd of March. Already a wildly successful YA trilogy in the US (and popular in the UK, too), the film is bound to create fresh interest in the books. Katniss Everdeen lives in District 12, a poor sector of a dystopian United States called Pan Am. When Katniss’s younger sister is selected as a “tribute” in the yearly state-sponsered teen-on-teen battle royale – the eponymous Hunger Games – Katniss volunteers to take her place, knowing full well that she will probably die in the process.

Film trailer:

Due to the popularity of the books, many American libraries are already hosting Hunger Games events. I would recommend preparing with extra stock – buy plenty of copies of all three books in the and considering events, but holding off until after the film is released, as I suspect many British teens will become fans of the trilogy after they watch the film.

In the meantime, you can read the books yourself and look at the District One Capitol Couture website – a very clever introduction to some of Pan Am’s obsessions.

Read-Alikes

You will probably get requests for more books like The Hunger Games. YALSA put together a list of classic and contemporary dystopian books for teens: The Future Sucks – A Visitor’s Guide to Dystopia. (One addendum to that list: the classic dystopian novel We by Yevgeny Zamyatin.) They have also compiled a short list of post-apocalyptic teen books at Dystopian vs. Post-apocalyptic Teen Books. There is an older list of 50+ dystopian YA books at Bart’s Bookshelf, and a shorter but very recent one compiled by on Wired. Alternately, type “dystopian YA list” into a search engine of your choice in order to yield extensive lists.

Displays and Activities

Tons of ideas for activities and displays. Here are my two favourite lists:
Feed Their Hunger for the Hunger Games from Teen Librarian’s Toolbox and and older (but still very useful) post from Youth Services Corner Hunger Games Party Ideas.

Do you have anything planned to respond to interest in The Hunger Games and dystopian YA?

Advertisements

2 Responses to “The Hunger Games Film: Activities and Read-Alikes (A Special Edition of Pop Culture Round-Up)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Two Reminders « YA Library UK - March 15, 2012

    […] opens on the 23rd of March. Is your library ready for an influx in interest? Take a look at these Hunger Games film and event ideas in order to prepare. Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

  2. Pop Culture Round-Up: The Hunger Games, Part II « YA Library UK - March 26, 2012

    […] well as read-alikes, you might also want to suggest some “watch-alikes” from this list ofBest […]

Leave a Reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: